Snow pansies, in the snow

I blogged awhile ago about planting snow (or icicle) pansies this fall.  The guy selling them at the Yakima Farmer’s Market said they’d bloom in the snow.  I wasn’t sure about that, but they were pretty so I bought some to try.  I planted them in a half barrel, and now that we’ve had our first snowfall, which set a record for the amount of snow this early, I can tell you that my snow pansies really are OK in the snow.

Here’s what they looked like last night, after a day of snow:

Oh, you can’t see my pansies?  Neither can I.

The day warmed and the sun kind of came out.  As did the pansies.

So far, so good.  We’ll see how they continue to fare as winter sets in.

Leave a Reply

